Don’t you hate it when you KNOW that an entry should be in your database, but no matter how hard you search – frantically opening folder after folder, the fear building – it’s nowhere to be found, until you finally locate it under a folder it has nothing to do with, because someone on your team moved it without asking or telling you? ARGH!

Well, now this annoying (and sometimes terrifying!) problem is a thing of the past, thanks to a great new feature in RDM 13 called Move Rights.

What are Move Rights?

As you can guess, Move Rights let you determine which individual users has the right to move entries in your database.

Configuring Move Rights
  • Choose the Administration ribbon
  • Click Users
  • Select a specific user (e.g. “Patrick”)
  • Click Edit
RDM_Multitab
Setting Permissions

At this point there are certain rules to follow if you wish to enable the Move Rights. To start with, the User type must be set to Restricted User.

Why, you might ask? Well, if your user is an Administrator then they will, of course, have all the rights If you choose Read only user, your user will only have read rights, and if you choose User then you’ll have a less granular set of permissions which won’t allow you to manage that particular right.

Then, your user must have Add and Edit rights for the Move box to appear, which makes sense since if you can’t add or edit an entry, you certainly shouldn’t have the right to move it.

RDM_Multitab
A Note of Caution

Make sure that you only give Move Rights to authorized users who know what they’re doing. Just remember what Mr. Weasley said to Ginny in the Chamber of Secrets: "Haven't I taught you anything? What have I always told you? Never trust anything that can think for itself if you can't see where it keeps its brain.”

As always, please let us know your thoughts by using the comment feature of the blog. You can also visit our forums to get help and submit feature requests, you can find them here.