We recently welcomed a great new member to our team, Dave Otis. I recently had a chat with Dave, and after discussing our mutual interest in nature and retro games; I asked about his background, experiences, interests and goals. Here’s a look at our conversation:

Can you tell me a bit about your professional background?

In the past, I worked for Bridgestone as a database administrator, and my work involved debugging SQL requests and stored procedures. I was a student at the time, and it was a fun and informative experience! Now that I’ve graduated from college, I’m happy to be part of the Devolutions team.

What would you say is your biggest professional achievement so far?

Since joining Devolutions, I’ve developed a system to help our HR department manage employees and store information like vacation schedules, salary data, and even how many T-shirts we need to give to employees as gifts. I’d say that creating this system has been my biggest professional achievement so far, and what I’m most proud of.

What was it about Devolutions that made you want to work here?

While a student, I kept hearing positive things about Devolutions, and especially in how their treat employees. I love that everyone here works hard and is smart, but they have fun, too. There are pinball machines and people play volleyball during their break. These really help manage stress, and make people happier and more productive, too. I wanted to be a part of this, and here I am!

What would you say are your top three strengths at work?

I’m very punctual and always meet deadlines. I also have the capacity to resolve problems quickly. When I worked for Bridgestone, I’d say that was actually my top strength.  Finally, I adapt quickly to changes.

What tasks do you carry out in your job, and what are some of the tools that you use?

Right now, my main focus is on creating a new website for our HR department. To achieve this, I’m using asp.net with Microsoft visual studio. The main language with this tool is C# and JavaScript

On a personal note, what are some of your hobbies and interests?

I’m very passionate about kayaking, and almost every weekend I’m trying to find a new place where I can relax. I also like being in nature, and enjoy skiing, which I’ve been doing it since I was 4 years old!